Family: You Can’t Choose Them

"Family" Mixed Media on Paper / Copyright 2013 Totsymae

“Self-Portait” Mixed Media on Paper / Copyright 2013 Totsymae

Do you ever wish some folk weren’t in your family? Would you not go to a dog fight with some of them? That’s unfortunate to say but just like I’m saying it about them, they probably feel the same about me. I’m not sure why, other than the fact that I don’t attend dog fights. I mean, I’m so cool and low maintenance and whatnot. I simply don’t function well or thrive among toxic folk. I eat my vegetables and drink at least 6 glasses of water a day. Therefore, I’m not prone to such whatnots.

Matter of fact, when family drama occurs, I’m pretty much on the bench. I don’t have to be a player. There was one time, however, that I had to write a very direct letter after a family function went south. Trust me, it was best to send this message via email on account that nobody was listening.

Now, I like folk in general but have you ever thought about some family members and just knew that if they weren’t in your bloodline, you’d have nothing to do with them? It’s sad to say but the truth will set you free. Though, for these particular folk, it’s quite okay to love them from a distance. From another country, or planet, once you get your rocket ship and space gear, that is. I reckon only the wealthiest of folk will have this kinda luxury. They won’t even have to be bothered with getting a cell phone call while they’re in space. Can you imagine the phone bill?

On the other hand, you may have a perfectly functional family who has regular sleepovers and call a loved one every time you think of them to say you were thinking of them ’cause you don’t take for granted they’ll be there for you to make that call tomorrow.

26 thoughts on “Family: You Can’t Choose Them

  1. Sad to say but definitely the truth hon. I’ve cut myself off from the family. The only family I have is my hubby, sons and furry kids. Great post. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • The family dynamic is an interesting one. I occasionally go to family functions. The maternal side ain’t that close. Most folk I know have issues on their maternal side too. I mean, nobody’s got how to do this family thing down to a science. Some of us work less at it than others, I reckon.

      Like

      • Indeed Totsy. I prefer to stay away from family gatherings, especially funerals and barbeques. πŸ˜‰
        Yes, isn’t that strange? I guess it’s because some folks think because you’re ‘family’ they can do and say as they please, and most of the times just negative things. I don’t care for that. A pity we can’t choose our family as well as we do our friends. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I know all about disfunctional families !! I used to be in one.. Now it’s just me and my grown-up kids and thankfully we are very functional !! ( OH and my aging mother in a residential home but that’s a whole other story)

    Like

  3. You can’t live with ’em, you can’t make them go away. I certainly have one or two family members that I get along much better with the less I see of them. Makes me more appreciative of the one’s I do enjoy spending time with.

    Like

  4. Oh, how I feel you on this one. My family is the picture by the word dysfunctional in Webster. Ugly is the helpful things they say to one another in the spirit of loving advice. Drama is practiced at reunions over appetizers, by desert Oscars are handed out for best new performances.

    I am only grateful I am adopted and am able to say to myself, my DNA is not theirs. Not all members are the same and I do love some of them fiercely. But man, some I would rather carry out for Wednsday pick up.

    The really strange thing? I know my ‘real’ bloodline also. Some are just as ugly mean.

    Like

  5. My immediate family and a few assorted relatives are great, but I don’t know how the rest of those people are related to me. It’s like being part Adams Family and part Leave it to Beaver, but way worse.

    Like

  6. I feel as you do now that some of the main plays are in the ground it’s like the family as just move and gone. I have not heard from my sister since we dug the hole. Now there is nobody left but us three, however is seem two when leave out one from three. The one being me!

    Like

  7. There is one in every family. In mine, it is my brother Bob. A Glenn Beck lovin’ white guy who hates everybody and blames everybody because he has a sucky life. But really, life is all about choices, and he makes poor ones. Like listening to Glenn Beck for example

    Like

Leave a Reply

